This Week in Athletics at the High School 2/27

February 27, 2020

Last weekend was quite the weekend for our tigers athletics!

-Troie Grubbs and Kaisey Speck competed at the state swim meet. Troie placed 14th in the state for the 50-yard freestyle.

            Caleb Strack, Alec Dicus, Ben Altsdadt, Troie Grubbs, & Kaisey Speck are All-County All-Stars

            Coach Ted Temple is the All-County Boys Coach of the Year

-The boys bowling team made to the state competition this Friday in Columbus, beginning at 10:30am. Austin Rinehart made the all-tournament team. The boys bowling team is made up of members Sean Clark, Alan Evans, Jason Guthridge, Trent Hutson, Nathan Najera, AJ Randolph, Austin Rinehart, Brady Dalenburg, and Dravin Morgan. Kadence Fairchild and Abby Crager also competed at the district bowling championships, but didn’t make it to state. Kadence missed qualifying for state by 3 pins.

            Austin Rinehart, AJ Randolph, Kadence Fairchild, & Abby Crager are All-County- All-Stars

            Coach Bobby Lear is the All-County Girls Coach of the Year

-The boys wrestling team placed 5th in the MOAC. Devin McCarthy and Jon Abouhassen are MOAC champions. Sam Wegesin placed 2nd, Brodyn Butcher and Kidren Clark placed 3rd, and Corin Justice and Max Fisher placed 4th. The Galion girls wrestlers competed in the 1st ever girls state championship—Larissa Franks placed 3rd and Anna Court placed 4th

            Max Fisher, John Abouhassen, and Devin McCarthy are All-County All-Stars

            Coach Brent Tyrell is the All-County Coach of the Year.

-Boys basketball

            Isaiah Alsip won all-county honors, 1st team MOAC and 2nd team All-District

            Reece Payne earned Honorable Mention honors

-Girls basketball

            Natalie Perkins earned 2nd team Honorable Mention All-District

            Teanna Greter earned Honorable Mention MOAC


            Danielle Manring earned All-County All-Star honors

-For indoor track, there were 8 new school records set: Kerrigan Myers in the 60meter hurdles; Zaynah Tate in the 800 meters; Ava Smith 1600 meters, Braxton Tate in the 800 & 1600 meters; Kerrigan Myers, Kaitlyn Bailey, Samantha Comer, and Zaynah Tate in the 4x100 meter relay; Ava Smith, Brooklyn Gates, Emily McDonald, and Zaynah Tate in the 4x800 meter relay; and Mathias Breinich, Simon Shawk, Bdaeden Horn, and Braxton Tate in the 4x800 meter relay.

-Ryder Alberty is the OYWA (Ohio Youth Wrestling Association) state champion (Galion’s first ever)

Blog Archive
« Back to Blog

Recent News