2019-2020 NHS Members Inducted

November 15, 2019

On Wednesday night, the newest members to the Galion chapter of National Honor Society were inducted.

The objectives of the National Honor Society are to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote worthy leadership, and to encourage the development of character in all students at Galion High School. To be eligible for membership, a junior or senior must have at least a 3.25GPA, show evidence of leadership and service in school and community, and earn superior character ratings from faculty. Each fall, a faculty committee reviews applications and makes selections from the field of applicants.

This year's inductees from the junior class were Kayden Caudill, Hannah Daniels, Wilson Frankhouse, Leah Hall, Kayla Hardy, Matthew McMullen Grace Murphy, Kaisey Speck, and Shelena Wilcox. Senior class members were Katie Baughn, Jordan Cleveland, Kaila Davis, Madison Harmon, Taylor Keeran, and Katherine Talbott. 

At the ceremony, Kiana Moulton, NHS secretary, introduced each of the new memebers; Anna Court, NHS President, gave the history of National Honor Society; Caleb Strack, NHS Treasurer, and current senior members, Elli Chandler, Gillian Miller, Kate Schieber, and Anissa Smith-Sublett gave the meaning of the emblem; and Kacie Runyon, NHS Vice President, gave the introduction of new members by their sponsors.

Students who were inducted were asked to ask someone in their lives — who they value or look up to in some way — to be their sponsor and give a short speech on why they are a good fit for NHS. Sponsors ranged from teachers, to coaches, to parents, to siblings, among others. 

The evening ended with the new members signing the official NHS register. 


Blog Archive
« Back to Blog

Recent News